Carver MT for 2.8

Hi,

I’m working on bringing back Carver MT for blender 2.8.
It’s working, but there is still a lot of code refactoring to do.

As a hobbyist I never used it, so i’m wondering if anyone can tell me what can be improved on this addon.

The addon can be find here :
https://github.com/clarkx/Carver

Todo :

• Refactoring the code
  • Bug fix
  • Add stuff

Thanks.

30 Likes

Hi. Since this addon has been officially added to 2.79, I think that sooner or later it will be ported to 2.8 by developers.
But if you are doing this to learn and for fun, I have an old request for this addon. That in Ortho view, to be able to visualize Grid “over” the object in solid view for the main views (that the object does not cover the Grid). That way Grid serve as a guide to work more accurately without the need for X-Ray/wireframe mode.

By the way, this Grid request would be nice to have it in all Blender 2.8, not just for the addon

1 Like

YAFU, there’s no guarantee scripts in blender 2.79 will make it to 2.8 release unless people like clarkx help. Some addons in 2.49 did not get back in until 2.6 or 2.7 series. Unless people help, addons that are not fixed will be removed from 2.8 then face review again before they get back. Simply there are too few addons devs working with Blender built in addons for the current list to be sustainable.

1 Like

Oh, thanks for the clarification. I had imagined that the plan was officially to port the most important addons.
So good luck with this @clarkx !

Thanks @Meta-Androcto. @YAFU, I will add a grid later, as you request. Thanks.

The first post have been updated with a link for a first version.
I’ve add an icon in the toolbar to activate Carver or by using ALT+X.

3 Likes

hi @clarkx, am I not sure how to enable snapping functions or actually cannot be activated?

can you add “the bevel function wiith the mouse wheel” to the vertices?..