Character Render

I’ve been practicing, off and on, with main character modeling/designing for my Graphic Novel In The Year 2525 which involved the use of Blender to model and render a base image in Cycles so I can paint over corrections; I also used Freestyle as a guide for inking lines, however many of the finer lines in the image is unaltered Freestyle.

I used Blender 2.8 to finish the modeling, and used cloth sim on the uniform.

Since I am new at this part of working in 2D, I accidentally set Blender to render in 8k and worked on this image at that resolution, but in the end it was a happy accident as it left me with a very high quality output.

I had bought my first ever screen tablet a couple of weeks ago and watched tutorials on how to draw, ink, and stroke lines, and came up with the final image below in combination with Blender.

Full 1080 output:

4k output (cropped to head only):

4k Full output

8k output (cropped to head only):

Base model in Blender:

You can view all my older renders here from many years ago: 2525: Irene Jameson

80 Likes

Beautiful style and character design! Love your work!

2 Likes

This is really nice work. I like the final result, nice job.

1 Like

Great character. The style is very nice. I would never have guessed she was a 3D asset.

1 Like

Wow it’s so enjoyable to look at!
the small and big shifts in color really works well here. A job well done!
You almost think it’s ALL vector graphics magic!

1 Like

BRAVO! I like it very much. I like elastic look of leg muscles, and the softness of the boots. Beautiful face. Great art!

1 Like

great work…!!!
so the original result had no outlins !!!
i would say youv reached the goal … though its really hard to trace and do outlines for every shot you render !!!

1 Like

Thanks!

I used Freestyle to render lines as guides to ink over. It was very useful as a “sketch” render. The output of that is so high, that when scaled down the lines virtually disappear, so I never posted them.