Complete - 3.1 Secret Deer Splash Remix

Edit: Updating with the final thumbnail from sketchfab

Previous grease pencil render:

Hello,

I’d thought to show how I went about making this rendered scene here with the piece by Lorenzo Aiello I’ve chosen to remix / recreate here in blender. My initial plans were to make a grease pencil / 3D mix and add a person taking the picture of the magnificent forest creature in the foreground. Since I am relatively new to grease pencil I wanted to try my hand at using it as a tool to create bigger 2d pieces within 3d space. Given my inexperience I did go through trial and error along the way.

Currently, I’ve hit a bit of a snag since my initial plans now that I’ve learned you can’t export that out to Sketchfab in the way that it appears within blender which is a little frustrating since I didn’t realize this till really late into my progress but my fault for not initially doing my research.

As a note, I’ve tried known methods to convert the lines into meshes but the results have been less than stellar to be frank and that may be in part to the way I drew everything with too many overlapping lines, points, and vertices. I’m aware of the convert to mesh option in blender but again the results have not been great, which also again my fault for not being conscious of the steps I would have to take to convert this.

However, even if I don’t end up submitting to the contest by the end because I haven’t found a way to export it, I still thought to share the progress I’ve made so far. Eventually I might upload a semi turnaround video on artstation if that’s allowed and not violating any rules or licenses, and of course giving the proper credits.

So I started by creating a base mesh of the deer using deer references and mballs before remeshing and then fixing it up in sculpt mode. The initial deer on the right and then the end result on the left.