Feather a cast shadow surface

Hello Blender Guru Artists,

I am facing a problem and need your expertise. I am using a plane right below my 3D model as a shadow catcher using the Cycles rendering engine.

The plane is casting the shadow perfectly but as you can see on the attached screenshot the plane edges while casting the shadow is too hard. Is there a way to soften the edges? I guess I can not really use transparency on the material since I enabled the Shadow Catcher for the plane under visibility> Object properties.

I have enabled transparency under films > Render Settings.

Thank you in advance.

I think a simple subdivision surface on the plane should do it :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks a lot Kazrarr for your response, I am a newbie on blender and I am not sure how I could achieve it with Subdivision surface. Could you please explain the steps in detail or if it is too much send me a link to review it in detail?

Once again thanks.

I think I miss communicated the problem. I like the shadow end before reaching the edge of the plane like feather effect.

1 Like

hello again, first : I’m sorry for the misunderstanding, :sweat_smile: It was part me too, Now I get the problem : you want some kind of gradient/ramp between transparent shadow and hard shadow following your circle right ?

Second, I’m sorry to disappoint you, :sweat: but I’m not an expert in this subject, so I hope you’ll find someone to answer you :wink:

have a great day :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

What you need is a gradient transparent shader on the plane? But i am not sure if it works with the shadow catcher. I quickly test it and will come back with results.

1 Like

Seems not to be that easy. Dont know why the shadow catcher is not tasking the transparent mask into account. Maybe a bug?

My setup just limits the area but also not with a soft shadow…

I summon a node expert.

EDIT: i searched a bit and found the same node setup here.