Fifth Semester: Term Paper~!

Hello all, I make this topic almost entirely out of boredom. Just kidding. Well anyway it is once again a completely unneccesary thread started by myself. Oh well.

Point is that I’ve been practicing 3d now ever since March of 2006 (I started with Bryce and Hexagon 2). Even though it feels like it’s been much much longer than that somehow. Oh well. lol

The way I figure it if this was some kind of school I was in that right now I’d be smack in the middle of my Fifth Semester I think. Mid-way through the 3rd year. I’m not all that fantastic at telling time or at doing math either for that matter. So just play along.

Okay so I left blender for about six months and spent a whole heck of a lot of energy on trying out other game engines and learning C++ (!) and the like. I also left because I tasted Zbrush and couldn’t go back to blender sculpting so I journeyed out to find a sculpting program that I felt comfortable with - and stumbled upon 3dCoat which hasn’t been ready for use until just recently! And this also coincides with a lot of tremendous blender game engine developments. Long story short I’ve returned!!! Whee.

To be honest I haven’t been doing much “game development” or much actual 3d stuff for the past 6-8 months partially because I’ve been doing so much game engine testing, and 3dCoat bug reporting. Which added much uncertainty to how I should proceed as well as just taking time and effort to do those things.

But those things are in the past now. And because of my experiences elsewhere I now appreciate blender and its game engine much more than I ever did before and I’ve always loved blender.

So anyway the point is that it’s the 3rd year. Game engine has been decided. Sculpting program has been decided. I think I’ll start a game.