Flower material

Hi, I’m trying to get a similar result to that:

and this is what I have so far (the petals, not the leaves):

I have no experience with plant materials and no idea what I’m doing.
thanks to @sozap I got this far:

any advice on material/lighting would be appreciated, thanks!

Use the subsurface sub scattering parameters and a backlight

2 Likes

could you be more specific? I have absolutely no idea how to use the subsurface scattering

1 Like

https://blender.stackexchange.com/questions/179560/how-to-use-subsurface-scattering-in-principled-bsdf

more serious and with text so you ll not have some useless comments and hums.
And you ll not destroy the planet with video servers.

Hello !

You should get your hand on real textures, it’s super tricky to recreate flower / leaves pattern with only procedurals : https://www.textures.com/download/Flowers0196/29264

I also think the model lack a bit of randomness / displace to feel more natural…

That and a proper SSS should already bring you closer !

2 Likes

The lighting in your reference is much softer, and it looks like there’s volumetrics as well. Those elements will make a huge difference

Hi. Try this:
rose_displacement(b3.5).blend (966.4 KB)
You can create displacement (in geometry or render) to imitate the organic texture of the petals.

Thanks! sorry for the delay, I tried your advice and this is what I have so far:

I’m a bit rusty on materials, so it will probably take a while

Like I said before, one massive difference is your hard lighting:

Screen Shot 2023-10-13 at 11.38.14 AM
Screen Shot 2023-10-13 at 11.38.18 AM

No amount of materials are going to fix the fact that your reference image uses very soft lights and you are using very hard lights

2 Likes

could you please give me some advice or direct me to a tutorial on lighting?
I understand what you mean by soft lighting, but have no idea how to do so in blender.
Thanks!