Goin all in on GPU rendering? or having a good cpu just in case?

hi

i plan to buy a 5800e render pc, so i need some new points of view about my case
( got a student job at architects bureau , i do their render for 5 month non stop as they want then they pay me the 4800 pc and i got 1000e reserved for this… im quite new to the pro render scene, till today ive worked mostly as an amateur , but this is really far from what i want to achieve with my life , and now with graduation its time to do serious stuffs)

id like this beast of a pc to handle anything , not to fail on me last minute if i have a big scene to render, so im really really afraid of going out of memory … i heard a lot of stories about pros that are going cpu last minutes because of this problem, i dont want to happend to me , this 6 000 needs to last me 5 years!

so i have thoses two option

option one : full GPU 

CPU 16 core, 4ghz threadripper (equivalent of 1x 1080 for rendering )+ 32gb vram
GPU 4x next gen nvidia 80 series 800e card, or good future amd series with at least 12gb vram

with this i have 4 possibilities:
  • maybe it will rarely goes out of memory?
  • going out of memory and start crying ?
  • going out of memory but hoping “out of core” cycles patch will do the job correctly?
  • getting redshift for blender ( ive contacted the devs they told me it will come out)
    having +50% faster render because “redshift is ultra fast” they said
    going out of memory but being saved by a great out of core algorythm ?

option two : 70% GPU with GREAT CPU

CPU 32 cores , 3.8Ghz Threadripper (equivalent of 2 1080) + 32gb ram
GPU 3x next gen nvidia 80 series 800e card, or good future amd series with at least 12gb vram

with this i have 5 possibilities:
  • maybe it will rarely goes out of memory? then i bough a dubble price cpu bit less powerful for nothing?
  • going out of memory and being saved by the great cpu
  • buying another gpu a year after ?