GPU vs CPU rendering

Hi guys

I’m working on a GPU vs CPU rendering comparison which will be the subject of a podcast I’m working on with my colleagues. Every day I work as a support guy on a cloud render farm and I have my experiences with both CPU and GPU rendering (and I’ve seen experiences of our customers) but I’m very curious about your opinion.

If you use GPU render engines what are the reasons? The most common reason I’ve heard about is speed, but of course when you have access to more than one card or processor then I guess it’s rather speed\money.

What is interesting for me is are there any other reasons for using GPU render engines? Do they give a different, maybe cooler look, any features which CPU engines lack or type of subjects where they give better effects?

I’m very curious about your opinions and impressions when it comes to GPU rendering. What are the pros and cons?

By the way – when it comes to GPU unbiased engines – the GI and glossy reflections\materials highlights are computed as the same thing, right? For example, in CPU V-Ray GI and material reflections are visible on two separate layers\passes.

Only reason is speed. And if you want or need to use OSL shader or like this, you need to use CPU renderer.

CPU usually supports all features while GPU not always so it depends from render to render.
CPU limited by RAM which is upgradable to really large sizes, while GPU limited to VRAM thru now in some renders they can access RAM in addition, but it also makes them go slower.
GPU usually faster and it’s more easy to stack them, but that also depends, Threadripper 3990x with it 64 cores does beat single TITAN RTX