Help with baking

Hi, I need help with baking texture. I convert marvelous designer models to another game through blender and everything works fine. I can convert them easily. The problem is when it comes to making to making textures. I was never satisfied with the result.

The texture looks fine in blender but when I bake it the result is too dark. I tried to cycle baking but it didn’t give me the best result either.

In render mode the texture looks fine but in cycle mode or whatever it’s called it’s so grainy. It didn’t even allow me to bake anything until I opened the object alone without the avatar. It kept saying the there is no image found for the material.

I decided to try baking something for the object alone and it worked. I just didn’t like the result.

I need a method of baking that gives you the exact same result that you see in the view port. I tried many settings and I couldn’t get it. Any help would be appreciated. I’m new to this so I might be asking really stupid questions.

@Snoopyohhh Not sure what is going on but there is a bit of an odd method to baking textures in cycles. This video may help you with the process. The video is explaining the normal map baking but same process applies when baking other textures as well. As far as blurry or grainy results that could be simply the quality of the texture file you are using for the bake, which is explained in the video as well. And try to save the bakes as png or tiff files as others tend to be quite noisy and lossy in the final output. But here is the video that explains the process.

I categories texture baking into three groups:

• Geometry baking: High poly mesh to low poly mesh detail (e.g. normal, curvature, cavity, thickness…)
  • Material baking: final result of material properties of a node graph into unique textures (e.g. base color, roughness, normal…)
  • Lighting baking: (e.g. indirect lighting, shadows…)