Help with normal map baking on 2.8

I’m having a really bad time with baking normal maps.
I’m a newbie so I started with engraving a simple square inside the starting cube and it worked perfectly, so I started doing a bit of work on a test helmet and tried to bake an eye socket (again, a simple square) onto it but the resulting normal map is not correct.

As you can see the high poly model is just the low one with a simple eye socket, but when i bake them togheter the normal map has those “non existing” triangles that end up having different height.

Even baking the normal mab without the socket generates the same triangles.

I have googled the issue for half a day now and i tried:

-Adding vertices to low poly mesh
-Re-doing the UV layout (with marked seams, not from view)
-Baking another model (same result - exept for the cube)

My best guesses are that something is wrong with either the way i make the UV and/or unwrapping or blender’s 2.8 normal baking ( i found this discussion from sept 2018 : 2.8 normal map baking broken?).

If you have any suggestions as why this happens please do help me out.

1 Like

First, make sure your color space is set to non color on your normal map image node. That’s the prime culprit for 95% of all funky normal issues, and a mistake almost everyone makes at some point in their lives.

If that doesn’t fix your problem, you might need to upload your .blend file. There’s a thousand and one reasons why a bake could mess up on you, and it’s hard to troubleshoot just from pictures alone. At a casual glance, it looks like it’s baking the underlying tris that secretly exist on all your faces, even when they look like standard tris and ngons, and I’m not exactly sure why it’d do that.

thanks for your reply, here’s the .blend:

I set the image normal map image texture node to non color and baked again, but still no luck.

Here you go.