How can I convert a glTF metallic-roughness map into two separate roughness and metallic maps?

Sorry if this is a silly question. A lot of the files I find on the internet have combined metallic-roughness maps, however I need to import these models into a program which does not have a “metallic-roughness” option when importing, only a metallic map and a roughness map as two separate options. How can I extract just the roughness map from a metallic-roughness map and save it as an image texture, and same with the metallic portion?

All those xy-maps are very dependent on the shader setup and the actual engine… (and i’m not an expert in this) … (but) if you search for this… you can find an overhelming amount of posts… for example:

or (no solution yet… but mayne interesting info to start with…)

The next is is a bit different topic… but also struggleing with the differences used in different aproaches…

If it is a combined Metal/Roughness map … you could use a split by color node…( you would have to figure out which of the channels the Metal and roughness are in…

and just output those ( usually in a file like Marmoset, the Blue channel is the Metallic, and the Green is the roughness…It may be different in your file, just output with a viewer node and select the proper channels)…This is if there is actual masking in the channels…a lot of the time the channels are just filled with the color white to black for the greyscale Mettalic and Roughness… This is used in very many Game Models…where a 128x128 color texture is used for the Metallic and Roughness combined with an alpha Mask baked into the Alpha Channel to control them…

If that is the case a simple RGB node plugged into the M/R slots with the appropriate color will do…

1 Like