How can i make part of an object have a gold color and texture,

and another part have a water color and texture?
is making it so they reflect light as if they were gold and water possible?

Here a .blend of the nodes setup, hope this is what you are looking for ;

water_gold.blend (3.4 MB)

1 Like

that’s exactly what i want. is it possible to use a map of the earth where the land is white and sea is black, and make the land be gold and sea be water colored? i’m very new to blender so explaining how to do all of this simply would be appreciated

Hi Isaiah,

Yes it is the same graph nodes setup except you would replace the color ramp with the black and white mask of the earth.

I had to apply a decimate modifier on the sphere because of the limit of file size but it is not necessary.

Here the .blend

water_gold_earth.blend (4.1 MB)

thanks so much for your help! if you feel like helping more… basically i’m making a heart shaped globe, and as it is the gold texture looks very stretched from the heart shape. any clue how to make the gold texture look more natural and not stretched?

also, how do i change the image that’s being reflected off of the materials?

Without seeing your file it’s hard for me to tell you but it is probably related to your UV mapping that have some distortion in it.

I don’t know what is your level of experience but i presume that you are probably just starting so if that’s the case i suggest the Blender fundamentals.

Not that i don’t want to help you it’s just that i may bring concept that you haven’t learn yet and it will be impossible to explain clearly for me.

Here the Blender fundamentals link ;

this is my first project, and i’m trying to finish ASAP because im making a logo for a charity and it has already taken quite a while.

do you mind checking out my file and telling me how to fix it, or if it’s complicated, which tutorial(s) to check out?