Human Modeling: First Time

I decided to boot up my old favorite graphics program after a long time of no blending. I wanted to try something new, so I started on human modeling for the first time.

First I tried out my new writing tablet by a drawing a few illustrations from Bridgman’s Drawing from Life.

Image1

Image2

Then I tried to create my own model:

Image3

Kind of simple, but I’m new to this.

Image4

Image5

Remember, I’ve never done this before, so any suggestions or links to tutorials would be greatly appreciated. I’ll keep posting as I continue constructing this model. I hope to find from this first attempt a method and groundwork for constructing all future models. Thanks in advance for C&C.

Edit: I thought it would be a good idea to go ahead and replace all images with links, and post the most recent image here:

http://www.micaiahchisholm.com/Model14Object.jpg

nice head :slight_smile:

your first time is better than my all time…make a tutorial, or else…lol, but seriously you should.

Also, was that vert pushing or sculpting?

this is one of the hardest things in blender, and you made a realy nice head for a beginner:eek:

Update: Made slight adjustments to the nose and started working on the neck muscles and clavicle

It seems the most critical tactic to developing a good model is to make sure mesh lines run parallel with prominent curves from bone and muscle structures, and to learn when a mesh line from one prominent features should intersect perpendicular or parallel to the mesh line of another feature. For example, the mesh I used for the brow, and cheek bones intersected perpendicular to the nose line at first when I started making this model, but I found that it worked better if I curved them upward full circle to fuse parallel with the nose line.