Laser Cutter Machine Loop

This is the finished version of my “laser cutter” project. While I rendered out the final over the course of a few days, I used a lower resolution test render to sync it with sound effects and some theatrical music. I’m happy with how it turned out - be sure to set it to loop!

This project was inspired by the many Blender animations I’ve seen over the years where a simple machine creates objects in an infinite loop. I wanted to make something like that, but my project grew in scope a number of times as I figured out what I actually wanted to make - and ended up taking a few weeks to finish. Originally, I’d hoped to get it done over the course of just a couple of days. :sweat_smile:

As I mentioned in the work-in-progress post, I utilized a number of techniques that I only had a passing familiarity with. I’m still no expert on these subjects, but I thought I’d elaborate a bit on them for anyone curious about how this was made:

Drivers & Constraints

Drivers were hugely important to this project. In this scene, I used them to aim the laser at an empty, and make sure that the different parts of the laser couldn’t push past their limits. I also used them to drive the Screw property on a Screw modifier, so the spring could expand and contract without being squished/stretched.

Dynamic Paint

I’d never used dynamic paint before this project, so it took some fiddling to understand the best approach. I used it for the laser cutting/drawing effect on the block. It mostly worked well, but I ran into two issues:

First, Blender would become unresponsive almost every time I rendered them, which was inconvenient, but it would always finish the render so it wasn’t too big of an issue as long as I remembered to save first.