Lego Dropship

As a companion to the lego space marines on blandswap, I built a dropship. Unfortunately I’m only allowed three attachments per post, so I’ll have to improvise:

Sarge’s attempt at wingwalking

Chief showing off

Telling me about engine mechanics in exhaustive detail

Apologies to the moderators, but I needed more then three attachments.
So, what do you think? Does it match the marines color scheme well? What should I change? Feedback appreciated!
Until next time, SpiritOfOnyx

They would stand out more if you would place the model in front of a background that is a different color than the model itself. There just isn’t enough contrast to pick out details very well.

Usually this is done intentionally to hide flaws :wink:

Didn’t intentionally make it hard to see, I’m a noob :o
I don’t like example renders with lots of unneccesary color, and environment lighting does do some damage when the materials are the same… Render it against a black background next time?

If you don’t want to get into colors that much, any neutral color that is at least 30% different in contrast should do.

nice modeling, but the red peices look like they have no shading

the red peices look like they have no shading

Some of the red ones are on emit level 3.

nice modeling

Thanks! I did it all from scratch.

I Intend on following this up with some stuff like tanks and fighters as well.

Why did you enable emit on them? are they lights? If not might as well drop the emit

They are supposed to be little glowing gun type thingies lol. I don’t know how to make them influence their surroundings by turning the stuff around them red, how do I do that?

Got some better renders of the dropship and built a fighter, upload the pics soon.

You can turn on environment lighting but from my experiments (only a few) it is not that great.