Luxcore product advertising

Hi everyone ! My name is Nandeya Charles i’m a 3D generalist artist working with opensource software since 2009 (blender 2.49 era). Most of the time i’m doing architecturale visualisation with blender and Luxcorerenderer , but sometime i get involved in some product advertising and design project.

Back in 2019 before the corona thing i was working on a cosmetic product visualisation for an actual brand with a team of talented artists from different country via internet.It was a really great experience.
i was in charge of the modelling lighting and shading part. Due to the challenging nature of the project (Lot of glass and very reflective surface plus some caustics animation) Luxcore has been our choice right at the bigining.
Thanks to David Bucciarlli the lead devs and BYOB the addon devs the instant caustics feature was already available and production ready.
pre-production render took just 5mn on a 1080Ti in full HD so it was really interesting to render full animation frames on renderstreet (render.st) one of the first renderfarm with early support for luxcore.
there was also some advance compositing needed for masking and flexibility. So all frames were saved in OpenEXR format and composited in Blackmagic Fusion.
After a very Long NDA time i’m happy to share it with you :

Some blender Screencapture :

56 Likes

Nice work!

1 Like

Thanks guy !

1 Like

Nice! Well done :+1:

Makes me want to try lux again. Can lux use cycles shaders directly ?

2 Likes

Yes !
The most reliable one is the disney shader. The node that aren’t really readable are light path node/ layer weight / ambiant occlusion … Node that not make sense in luxcore perspective as you don’t need related tricks to bypass engine limitation.
the simpler the node tree the easier it will be translated.

3 Likes

This Sounds very good! Thanks for the info.
Did you use cryptomatte for masking?