Male Character WIP

current face: (whoaaa…those earlier faces are creepy…)

Hello!
After nearly 3 years of procrastination, I’ve finally started on a male character~
Anyway, here’s the head model so far.
I’ve never done a guy before…but the lower half of his face looks kinda weird, especially from the side, and I can’t figure out why…
Any feedback is appreciated!

1 Like

Hey! 3 years? that’s a long time procrastinating! haha

Great progress, I feel like the jaw it’s too small for his face. It’s like a mix of a grown man and a child depending on the angle I focus

Female and male facial structures are very different, so when you put off modeling a dude for a few years, your brain may get ingrained in the mindset of following the rules of female anatomy. For example, the jaw as stated above, is very rounded out and smooth, resulting in a more feminine appearance. You could make it more flat to even it out. Also, the lips could be thinner and flat as well as making the nose slightly larger and rough. So far, you’ve done a really amazing job with creating female characters, but that experience is working against you when trying to model a man. I’m a bit excited to see how this will turn out.

Probably a good idea to elongate the face in the vertical axis, including lowering the jaw some. Right now the eyes & mouth form a near-perfect equilateral triangle, which is a common beauty-norm for a female face. Either bring the eyes slightly closer together or (my recommendation) lower the entire bottom half of the face a little, probably a cm or less. Bring the end of the nose down with this change, but perhaps not so much, just a slightly longer and thicker bridge.

Squaring up the entire jaw and skull would also be useful, with flatter temples and a more angular maxilla. Thickening the brow ridges is another option. I would also give the ears more flare, have them stand out from the skull more.