Material id from Blender to Marmoset

Hi,

this is my first time trying to assign material id to my mesh and then have that material id the same in Marmoset.

I have one mesh with multiple materials, but no matter what I do in Blender Marmoset doesn’t bake the material id correctly.

I tried using vertex color, I tried creating different materials and then assigning them to specific parts of the mesh. It doesn’t work. Marmoset will bake some random colors and I can’t texture small details separately from the rest of the mesh.

Could anyone explain what I should do? Thanks

Hi,

What’s your render engine in Blender? Eevee?

yes, Eevee

Can you show your nodes for that mesh?

I don’t have any nodes setup

But how did you make that model in Blender if you said you have one mesh with multiple materials?

oh, they were separate at some point, but after uv unwrapping and triangulation, I joined them.

I mean can you show me your shader nodes for that object in your Shading tab? What’s in there currently?

Okay, are you sure your materials are named properly?

I don’t know what properly means. I named them according to the part of the mesh that they are assigned to.

Yeah, I see, well at least it’s not blablabla123

I’ve just found that one video, try to watch. Maybe it will help you.

ok, I will watch this. Thank you

1 Like

Hmm, it doesn’t cover the problem that I have. He didn’t even bake Material ID in Marmoset, he left that box unchecked.

What I’m trying to do is have different textures for every part of the mesh. But Mamoset won’t take into consideration the color id maps I created in Blender. Actually I don’t even know if I’m doing it right.

Just found this thread about similar problem, IDK if it’s exactly what you’re looking for, but you can give it a try.

Seems to me that this one’s gonna help you

thanks for eveything

No problem!

Are you working with Marmoset Toolbag, is that right?

yep, that’s right

1 Like