Modelling a dinosaur: high level details?

Hi !
I’m creating a dino model that I want to include in a game (modding). I went with this workflow: base mesh, sculpting, retopology, UV unwrapping, baking normals, texturing, rigging.
The thing is, my sculpt is 9 million faces (which my computer barely handles) and I can’t get clean details like well defined scales, rough skin, folds … I feel like the results I want it impossible to get with this workflow.
Is there a way to sculpt high level details without crashing my computer ? Do I have to do it in another way ?

Any help is appreciated, but keep in mind that I’m not an expert so explain it simple.
Thanks !

1 Like

Are you using the multi-resolution modifier or just a huge polycount mesh?
Maybe you can split your mesh in parts and assemble later.
Can you share any screenshot or .blend file?

If your basemesh sculpting topology isn’t as close to evenly spaced quads as possible then your higher levels will subdivide unevenly. 9 million should be plenty to capture tertiary details. However, for high frequency detailing you should combine a tiling detail map in-engine and paint a mask if necessary. You can also use mirrored UVs on extremities to save valuable texture space. A dinosaur is a very large in-game asset so using unique 0-1 texturing is always going to lose res. This is why you have to have a solid understanding of game asset authoring ‘tricks’.

Your output normal map res will also play a big part. For instance, a 2K map will capture a maximum of 4 million points. A 4K map will capture 16 million…etc. Then you have to factor in your texture sheet usage, which may only utilise 60% of 0-1, so you lose res here too.

Your best bet for a large ‘hero’ character asset like this is to sculpt up to secondary forms and larger, less detailed, tertiary, and then use the high frequency tiled map I mentioned above. This is simply the nature of large, unique 0-1 assets.

2 Likes

I use the multires modifier.