My learning thread!

I’m pretty new to Blender but I have been watching it with interest. With the cool stuff happening I decided to take the plunge and get to know it real well. I ran into a few snags and have had come up with a few questions on what thing are. Hopefully this thread will answer my question but more important that it might inspire others to learn Blender also.

I’m writing this thread as a WIP of a level I’ve wanted to do for some time. I have already begun on a few assets. I know what GLSL is but what is the difference between Texture Face and MultiTexture?

If you look at the images below, if I leave shadeless off I get a bleached out picture like the one below. If click it on, I get a good render. I thought shadeless has to do with shadows? Also does Blender 2.5 handle shadows yet?

http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k290/u2mw/Test-1.png
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k290/u2mw/Test2.png

If you look at the image below I have a TON of questions. First I want to tile the wall, if you look at the UV’s you can see how I did this. Is there a better way to accomplish this? What if I want to do GLSL Texture Splatting in Real Time?

Second, When I render this scene I get no textures showing. I uv mapped them and assigned uv’s in the texture feild. Am I doing something wrong? Sorry for the many questions but I’m trying to wrap my brain on completeing the level. I will keep posting my work as I move along with it. Thanks in advance!

I love the “hand painted” kind of look on that texture for the prop. What was your workflow for that? Did you just paint it in Gimp or what? It looks good so far :slight_smile:

Looks fantastic (the prop) :smiley:

@The Dawisch - Yes it is handpainted. I used ArtRage for the painting. It feels so natural to me. I used Blender’s 3D paint tool to touchup.