Nvidia will support rtx dxr features in the gtx series

So hopefully eevee will support the new real time ray tracing features

The author seems surprised, but nVidia had actually made it clear from the very first initial presentation that GTX cards would have a fallback, just slower. The bigger problem for Eevee is the very unfortunate and badly timed choice of API, which makes it difficult to access the Vulkan-based dxr extension.

AFAIK, nVidia has no current plans to make raytracing available on OpenGL.

So it’s borderline impossible to implement Ray tracing reflection and gi for eevee ?

Well, it’s either borderline impossible, or just plain old impossible in an OpenGL application at this point. I’m no programmer though.

Note that I’m just talking about hardware raytracing on RTX, it could still be done in software via OpenCL maybe.

They need to port eevee on Vulcan api as soon as possible after the blender 2.8 release

Vulcan uses SPIR-V as shading language. Opengl uses glsl . That mean you have to rewrite EEVEE or at least change alot of the code to use automatic translation toolchain. My source for this info
So it’s is not that simple that’s a very big project

Basing Evee on OpenGL was probably the worst decision in all Blender history.
It was severly critized even when it was first announced by a lot of people.
And they were right: Technologically it is not only pretty much a dead end but also pretty much dead on arrival.

Why is it bad ? Could you explain ?

I mean they took the manhours to create a new viewport/ render engine to begin with and but created it around a legacy API whose writing was on the wall long before there ever was an Evee.
Not being on Vulkan means no hardware raytracing which a lot of game engines already have implementations for.
BF either rewrite the whole thing for Vulkan again ( which they should have done from the beginning) or just have new legacy render engine. I dont know how to call it but mismanagment.