offsetting an edge?

I am still a beginner to blender.

I would like to increase my skill at creating sharp edges with the subsurf modifier on. It seems that the way to go is to create an extra edge loop that is very close to the edge you want sharp. I think I have heard it called beveling.

I also use Rhino which has an offset feature. You select a border or line and then you can create another border or line that is offset by an exact amount. So, if I want an extra edge loop, I can offset one that is exactly .010" all the way around from the original edge loop.

Is there a way to create an offset edge loop like that in blender?

Thanks,
Dave

For sharped edges with subsurf go into edit mode, assuming you’re not in that mode already, press N to bring up the Transform Properties box, select the edges you want sharpened, and increase the Crease W value until you are satisfied.

You can use edge sharpening, but for the exact tool you were asking about that is ctrl r and to enter an exact amount just start typing after you get your edge loop on screen and before committing.

The manual entry is here.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Modeling/Meshes/Edge_Tools

Thanks Krisnack. Using the crease function worked nicely at a crease value of 1.000. Using it to create a tight, rounded bevel required a lower crease value and a very high subsurf value. Otherwise it was too rounded.

Richard,
Your method sort of works like I want on simple objects. I only seem to be able to type in a percentage or drag to place the new edges. On more complex objects, I do not get complete edge loops with the ctrl+r function.