Photoreal? Hard?

ok, mebe not quite photoreal… :smiley:

I made this following this tut by Karan Shah which was announced here.

I know it’s not the best but I’m impressed for a couple reasons. First, I’ve never used Yafray before and I really like it :] . Second, this is baby’s first interior right here.

I know there are several obvious flaws (the edges of the countertop, the super even grain in the wood, lighting anomolies, etc.) but for the amount of work I put in, it’s stunning. The modeling’s not great, but it only took a couple of hours (if that) and would have taken half that time if I hadn’t been reading through the tut at the same time.

I’ve not bothered to correct much of the errors since this render took my poor laptop about 2 hrs (maybe more, it’s the only thing I hate about yafray so far :p).

Many thanks and kudos and stuff to Mr Shah! :yes:

I’ve attatched the .blend if anybody wants to play around with it (BTW, the packed file was too big so go get ur own textures :]). I’d like to make some adjustments later on so I’ll post that when I finnish it. Let me know what you think :smiley:

-blue

Attachments

Kitchen.blend (847 KB)

not bad at all for a first interior, keep on working, next scene though try adding more details, i looked at this tutorial and it skimped on alot of details

It’s not quite photo real until you add dirt, grime, and crap to it. Nothing is that clean in real life.

Was this Yafray or Yafaray? How long this took to render?

look at the tutorial… it’s yafAray… and he said in his first post, that it took 2 hours to render

This is indeed quite a decent piece of work.
However…
I agree with LazyCoder; add dirt and smears… For example, that stove looks like it’s made of mirrors.
Also, and it’s a minor point, but how do you turn the oven on?

Exactly, add labels and imperfections to things, and it’ll look MUCH more realistic.

And it won’t look photoreal unless the render is properly gamma corrected also.