Please critique my very first render "The Lost Cosmonaut"

Hello everyone, I’m new to 3D and I’m loving it so far!
I spent a month learning and working on my very first render. I would really appreciate some feedback on what I should improve on.

71 Likes

wow. so mad this was your FIRST render. incredible. rethinking my life.

4 Likes

That’s amazing. I can’t think of anything that could be improved.

1 Like

Great work (not only a great first render). I like the lighting with the contrasts (color contrast to the inside of the astronaut and also the intensity contrast due to outer space).
The only thing I noticed is, that the upper frame of the glass has bit too few polygons. There are some thinker and thinner areas along the boundary of the metal to the glass.
Keep up the good work and I’m already looking forward to your second render :smile:

1 Like

Hahah thanks I’m flattered! :smiley:

Thanks for the comment! :smiley: I’m pretty sure there’s always something that can be improved.

Thank you!

I see what you you mean about the polygons.
I really struggled to get the shape right for that one because I used a boolean modifier and it messed up the polygons (especially with the subsurface modifier). I will look into that to see if I can work them both better together for future renders.

Thanks for the feedback though! I really appreciate it! :smiley:

Makes me wonder what happened to him? An alien abduction? Some kind of space disease?

No one knows for sure now haha but I do like the idea of a space disease. :smiley:

First render, holy crap! You obviously have some kind of prior art experience.