[POLL] Who is actually using 2.8?

Hi,

First, the title of my topic was :
Coding a new addon : is it worth the effort to make a 2.79 version ?

I have a big Work In Progress on coding some cool addons for Blender.
I started coding it for 2.79. But as every body seems to be speaking about 2.8, I’m currently making them available for 2.8, and that’s why I’m currently asking myself : Is it worth continuing coding the 2.79 part ?

In fact it’s hard to evaluate how many people are actually using 2.8 already ?
So i thought a poll would be quite usefull : Who is actually using 2.8 ?

• I use only 2.79
  • I use only 2.8
  • I use both (more 2.79)
  • I use both (more 2.8)

0 voters

Also, for those who have not fully switched to 2.8, I would be interested in knowing why ?

• Because it’s unstable
  • Because it’s not finished (and I need 2.79 features not yet available in 2.8, like in Python API, etc)
  • Other (I will precise in comments)

0 voters

Thank’s for your votes !
And in addition of the votes, I would be interested in the reponse of my question about how worth it is to continue coding addons for 2.79

See you :slight_smile: ++
Tricotou

4 Likes

For me the main reason I’m not ready to switch yet (aside from stability, as I wouldn’t use beta software for work), is a few addons I rely on aren’t yet ported over. As soon as that happens, I will do a test project with 2.8 and if everything goes alright I’ll switch!

Having said that, I personally wouldn’t bother with 2.79 for addons, unless it’s only a small effort on your part.

1 Like

I only use 2.80, but I’ll use 2.79 for big ifc files for immediate save - any navigation will completely crash my pc :slight_smile: While in 2.80 I can walk around in Workbench mode no problems at all.

Thanks to both of you for your comments :slight_smile:

That’s why I’m thinking too, it will depend on the amount of effort necessary :stuck_out_tongue:

What addons are those? Maybe there are alternatives or another solution.