Render Tests and Fake AO

This is not a spectacular test, but I never really realized the capability of yafray’s gi…
This is a 45 second render.

And the 45 second blender internal.

I’m not saying BI is bad – in fact, I think it has a lot of untapped potential – but yafray sure seems efficient.

EDIT: Just experimenting, and I found that I came up with this result using nodes and no raytracing (BI):

That’s a 6 second render. Not very realistic, but interesting nonetheless…

The yafray one looks more realistic, but oddly I like the BI version better.

Which one?:eyebrowlift2:

Oh middle one, and unlike Indigo (I know big difference) the color from the cube doesn’t seem to propagate (right word?) to the spheres.

I’m no indigo pro though, but I’ve started a render with roughly the same setup and the cube color showed up on both spheres and the floor plane. I used the default sky&sun thing since I never got any of the other options to work :frowning: I’ll post it later just for comparison’s sake.

Yeah I agree, indigo seems to have good results but i find that in many unbiased renderers the colour bleeding (or you could say 'propagate:eyebrowlift2:) is a bit overdone. In most real life situations it seems to be very subtle…
of course, that could be the fault of the artists.:wink:

Another faked AO (attempt) coming up…

Unlike the Blender material settings indigo doesnt seem to support the whole “Ambient” feature, which would allow for “controlled” color bleeding. Or at least I think it would. Or did I not understand the concept of the indigo renderer? :stuck_out_tongue:

Well, I dont know… I don’t think that’s what ambient lighting does, it just adds a general ambient colour to the scene…

But anyway, here’s another render, pure blender internal, no raytracing, one lamp. 11 sec. render.

Well it seems the bolor bleeding disappears as the render goes along I left it to bake for the night and here’s what i got.