Rendering an ACTUALLY transparent Glass? (Cycles)

Hello everybody!
Blender noob here, with a Blender rendering question :slight_smile:
I want to render a see-thru glass with an alpha channel, so that later i could composite it in photoshop/after effects and have the background move and change underneath it. i know the background won’t be refracted (i could fake the refraction in after effects)

I just want those cool highight shapes to be extracted from the sphere without this gray color in the way.
I already figured out that it has something to do with the world material nodes, but i don’t know how to set it up so that the the inside of the glass becomes transparent.

Any suggestions?
Thanks guys!!! :smiley:

Fresnel output gives slightly dark center and fully white edges, meaning that the object will be more transparent at grazing angles. Is this what you want? Normal setup for a glass shader is fresnel to mix refraction (top) and glossy (bottom) in which case what cycles see will be refracted. If you want no refraction at all simply replace refraction with a transparent shader (essentially a thin glass shader). The fresnel can be additionally outputted to a separate channel (i.e. emission?) to recreate the “film transparency” in post (I’m guessing, I’ve never done it).

glass is not 100% transparent , nor is it reflection free

there is always some reflection from the angle of incidence

plate glass is aporox. a 80 / 20 splitter

20 % will reflect off the glass and 8o % will refract through the glass

to be reflection free you need to use polarized light and a polarized filter set at 90 degrees to each other . and even then ???

You can’t have alpha transparency with a refractive material as the glass material is not transparent. It can’t know which part of the image is meant to be shown. If you want transparency, you need to use a transparent material instead, so you may as well use a mix of a reflective and transparent material instead of glass.

1 Like