Shinkai : Short film

Hello,

I’m currently working on a short film project. It will show the expedition of a japanese submarine : The shinkaï 6500 (it’s a real submarine that can explore very deep in the oceans).

To make it, I use principally blender. Sometimes I use Zbrush for sculpting organic things, substance painter and After effect. I thank sheepit I’m using for some renders.

For the moment, I finished the scenario and I did the shinkaï model. I modelled a tiger shark too that will have a little role in my film. I’m currently doing a lot of animating et rendering tests before to work on the final scenes and modelling some objects I will need for the film.

I’m not a professional and I’m working on it during my holidays (I’m a student, not in 3D). But I will do my best to end this exciting project.

This is an extract of my last work
The shinkai 6500 :

The Tiger shark :

VFX test about underwater bubbles :

Tuto (french) :

The shinkai’s blueprint I did in blender.

That’s all for the moment… I hope you will like it and I will try to add more pictures soon :slight_smile:
(Sorry for my academic english)
14 Likes

Everything looks like it’s working at a very pro level at this early stage.

1 Like

This looks amazing, One criticism I would have is that sharks only bend from side to side, their anatomy doesn’t allow them to bend like dolphins

Thank you for your replies !
@ChameleonScales you are right. I will take your comment to improve the definitive scenes.

I started to work on the animatic. I will show you the progress soon !

Begin of the animatic :

For the real scenes of the short film I will refine the movements and improve all the text effects.
I’m just searching the best camera angles, timing and musics for the moment.

The next scene will show the submarine exploring a rock in the deep sea. I will probably need to model some fishes.

1 Like

Hi !
Here are the first 2 minutes of animatic :slight_smile: