Should I upgrade to 2.8 now ....... or wait a few more months?

Hi all,

I did a quick search but didn’t find the answer, surprised that no one else has asked!?
As I’m still using Blender v2.78c … should I consider upgrading to 2.8 now? I’ve read that none of the modifiers are working yet ( post on another forum was a few weeks old though ). I understand that version 2.8 is still under heavy development, all I really need right now are the basics working OK’ish as I’m only a novice ; )

I’m just dying to get to grips with all the new features in 2.8 :wink:

TURK

short answer: no.

long answer: download the latest build and play around with the new features. It’s no problem to have 2.79 and 2.8 at the same time on your machine. So you can do all your projects in 2.79 but from time to time open 2.8 and see what you can achieve there. Maybe import old projects to try out Eevee

1 Like

First, you can upgrade to 2.79b. :stuck_out_tongue: Using blender 2.8 could be quiet tricky because still there is a lot of stuff being changed every day under the hood, so files saved one day, can not work properly with next build. I do it that way: I have 2.79b installed and I have a master build from 2.79 on the desktop to render (CPU+GPU) and 2.8 just to open project with it and see how it look, what can I di with it etc, but I never save file with 2.8.

2.8 modifiers and animation work again. It’s unstable and crashes a lot. It’s worth experimenting with. No physics or simulation right now. I am using 2.79 for modelling and trying things daily in 2.8.

Because compatibility can break I’d do modelling in 2.79 and then open things in 2.8 to try out eevie etc… save 2.8 projects as their own version and be prepared for breakage if you try and open the files from 2.8 in older versions of blender… be prepared to lose work from build to build with 2.8

Usually you can append data from a blend file into any other version safely though.