Struggling in follow reference when modeling the jaw

Hi blenders, newbie here (after 16 years after my few posts here)

I start model this a dummy character based on this reference: Deviant art - Average Joe Character Turn Sheet

I attached my blend file too for anyone who want to checkout what I did.

dummy_plane.blend (809.4 KB)

I had trouble of align this reference and I noted this when I were close to start modeling the jaw.

After a few try, I think I align a little better the front and right view.

Still I think the jaw and below it could be something odd, there on the reference lines of the jaw and the neck

Anyone could give some hints if I’m doing in the right direction?

I’m using a plane object to do this model, but I planning do it again using a box, just to know what could be better for modeling.

I’m justin ‘extruding’ and transforming. Another better way to do? More professionally?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Samuel

1 Like

First you have to know about perspective and orthographic mode. Perspective is the natural way our eyes function, in that it creates a projection where it calculates distance to relatively scale and distort the size of an object we’re seeing. When you put an apple at one meter away from you, and another apple at two meter away from you, the first apple appears bigger than the second. That’s perspective.

Orthographic is a computational way where objects are projected onto a flat coordinate. If we use our apple example above, in orthographic mode, both apples will appear with the same size despite their difference in distance.

For a character example, this is perspective,

and this is orthographic.

The easiest way to tell whether a character reference is in perspective or orthographic is to see the feet. You’d notice that in perspective, the feet seems to be protruding towards the camera. Meanwhile in orthographic, they lay flat.