The Most Simple Bone Question Never Answered

Hello,

I have a question, and possibly even a challenge to you blenderers. First is the question:

Is it possible to “apply” a bone roll at any arbitrary angle? Say I have a bone roll at a 45 degree angle, I want the bone to stay at that position but set the bone roll to 0. Seems simple enough, right? WRONG. (seemingly)

Ok, if there is not a simple blender function to apply bone roll, then the challenge is to figure out a way to do this. Is this possible through scripting? Any suggestions are much appreciated.

thanks

surely you can rotate it in edit mode?

Why do you want to do that?

Let me explain a bit more. I have two sets of animations for two different skeletons, and I want to make all the animations compatible with both skeletons. Problem is, one of the skeletons has bone rolls that are not zeroed. So the animations work for that skeleton, but because the animations were created with messed up bone rolls they wont work on the other skeleton with correct bone rolls. And listen, I cannot just redo the animations or start from scratch here, OK? Wish I could, but we´re talking about a lot of complicated animations.

Now, if I can just get blender to zero out the bone roll (think ‘apply bone roll’ like you would ‘apply scale’), despite the fact that the rolls are all messed up, I think the data can be copied to another skeleton with proper bone rolls with no problem.

One thousand thanks.

Select all bones in pose mode and Ctrl-A - Apply as rest pose.

Apply as rest pose does not affect bone roll.

Here in the first screen shot is the upper arm of a rig in the normal rest pose in edit mode. I entered pose mode, r-key to rotate, y-key, y-key to rotate along the local y-axis a negative -90, then from the pose menu -> apply -> current pose as rest pose. Then entering edit mode as in the 2nd screen shot, the bone’s roll angle is now -90…

Randy

I understand. Hope you can figure it out as it would be good to know.