Torres da Concertina | Playing Concertina on Top of a Moving Train

Improved version:

Original version:

producer/director/animator ROGÉRIO PERDIZ starring PEDRO TORRES lead cgi artist RUTE PERDIZ
soundtrack performed by TORRES DA CONCERTINA / PEDRO TORRES uses free assets from BLENDSWAP.COM, HDRIHAVEN.COM, TEXTURES.COM made with care in PORTUGAL

…Now how awesome is that and what a fun challenge it became :slight_smile:
Hello Friends!

My name is Rogério Perdiz, I’m a freelance Blender artist since 2009, blender user since 2001 and independent film maker. In the recent times you may have seen my work on the Resilience Satelle thread.

My nephew in law, the self-taught wonder boy concertinista know as “Torres da Concertina”, learned recently a new song called “Comboio da Beira Baixa (Train of the Beira Baixa)” and, while we were talking about it, someone (probably me) mentioned that it would be cool if he played that on top of a moving train :smile: :laughing: …and seconds later I was like :neutral_face: :face_with_raised_eyebrow: :thinking: :open_mouth: and why not!?

We had discussed previously about making a video using CGi in some way, so this felt like the perfect opportunity.

A week later we filmed all the footage in front of a way too wrinkled green screen that I had bought 10 years ago and never really used it for anything:

…and thanks to Blender awesome keying tools and many animated masks I actually did successfully removed all the green:

Note to self:
Just iron out that darn wrinkles next time! :angry:

Awesome! Ok, now all that remained was making a complete scenery for this.
Because we had zero budget and zero time for it we couldn’t make a locomotive from zero, but luckily we found a great one on Blendswap and Torres just loved it (who wouldn’t it’s great).