What are the best practices for working with Linked files?

I am new to working with Linked files and I am trying to figure out the best practices for a smooth workflow.
Most topics I find either date from 2013 or do not provide a direct answer to my particular musings.

I have a source Lantern with 4 Area Light children, all hooked up to a Custom Property with noise to animate the light and texture.

Question 1:

What would be the best choice to “link” these objects in a new scene?
Right now I have multiple assets set up in my World / Collection, so those are out of the question until I set up the source file differently.
Currently I am linking the Lantern via the Object folder, but that means I have to select my Area lights separately.

Question 2:

Is it possible to Link files and keep the Location, Rotation and Scale fields active in the new file?
Is there a way around this?
I figured an easy work-around would be to parent it to an Empty, but this also seems out of the question, technically.

Question 3:

What are pros and cons for Library Overrides?
After browsing around and checking the menus, I found the Library Override function.
This seems to create a Referenced Duplicate of the object that I can manipulate, but only the Location options turn blue for some reason.
I cannot move the original Linked file, nor hide it directly, but it does remain hidden for the Renderer if I hide its Collection.

Question 4:
Would it be a common practice to create a Collection for original Linked objects and hide that from the renderer, while using Library Override objects in my scene for animations and renders?

Question 5:
Can I combine all of this with the Asset browser somehow, so that I can easily manage my models for particular long-term projects and toss them in different files without too much hassle?

Thank you all for sharing your wisdom with me.

2 Likes