What tool, method, software etc to "paint" models in Blender or...?

Hi, I’m pretty new to Blender but I have made some models that I want to “paint”. I dont know if that’s the correct terminology but for example, when I print them in my 3D printer I then paint them afterwards and that’s what I’m trying to accomplish here.

I want them to look like tabletop painted models you’d use in something like D&D. I understand UV wrapping/unwrapping etc so if that’s the way let me know. These are super complex models with hundreds of thousands of tiny polygons (right term?). I’ve tried zooming in on them and highlighting and changing the color of said polygons however this is super time consuming. There has to be a better way? Even if it’s not Blender or another tool or I’m missing something easy, what is it?

Bottom line, how do I “paint” my models in blender with the end goal being that they look like they were actually painted with a tiny brush; this of course means that any spillover is ok! The better the detail is good so…fire away!

Texture paint mode, it is a bit complex so you better watch a vid;

Or if the models are dense geometry you can use vertex painting in sculpt mode, (the resolution depends on the density of the vertexes.)

3 Likes

Awesome thanks! So Blender is a decent place to paint then I take it. I was wondering what kind of responses I was going to get, maybe even software recommendations but that works. And I love Grant’s videos!

Well you can paint in blender but there are also alternatives that make things less complex. The main one is substance painter.

Substance is speialised software for painting. Blender does a bit of everything and some of the workflows are less specilised or more fiddly.

2 Likes

Well, that could be somewhat debatable…