Where to learn about procedural texturing / shading w/ nodes?

Hi, I am a noob in blender and 3d in general, and I would love to create procedural textures and materials/shaders with NO images :slight_smile:

I found out a way where I needed to script mathematical functions with the math nodes in blender. and also that eevee won’t render procedural shaders the same as cycles will.

But i can’t figure out much more. I don’t know enough about nodes and renderers in general, and not much more about how to translate mathematical functions that represent geometrical shapes into blender’s nodes … i tried to dl some blend files from people doing amazing stuff, but i am so lost in all the nodes and group nodes !

So do you have advices or know any sites / videos to learn more about this procedural stuff in depth ? even blender artists I could follow that know about it ? (i’ll continue to try to understand it as much as i can :grin: )

Thanks!

Btw I mainly use 2.8

2 Likes

Hi @pada1 , take a look at this website: http://www.blenderinsight.com/

1 Like

I’m working through this course at Udemy:

https://www.udemy.com/blenderenvironment/

I’m at the “shaders and shader nodes” section. It’s quite in-depth and starts at the beginning so I wasn’t lost.

Also, find procedural shaders and other shader node setups and buy them if that’s required or don’t if it’s not, and look at what the authors have done.

For example:

There’s also a guy on Gumroad who writes a shader called “B’rn”. It does great fire. He also has a bricks one. All totally free.

1 Like

Don’t get too strung up in the “no images” thing. Learn to manipulate coordinates and image blending using procedural control, and you’ll get a long way. A lot of patterns are not straightforward to setup procedurally, and have them be plausible to use for actual rendering with efficiency - being able to utilize images will be of great value.

Have a look at this thread:

3 Likes

I find this usefull for me:
Source page