House building with geometry nodes

Hello!
I’m fairly new with Geometry Nodes so there is a lot of nuances I still don’t get… but I wanted to see if there was a way to do a procedural building system but this time, not based on input and seed values but with a percentage of hand modeling. To keep some artistic control. Here is what I got so far but I need your help to improve this:

The technique I’m using is pretty simple. I’m modeling the basemesh and assigning different shader to control where I want to use different looks of the building.

There is a lot of way to improve that and I got some plan for the next but my main challenge right now is this:

How can I scatter a geometry on faces and scale the instances to match the original face size? Basically, how to get the face dimensions without knowing the Vertex index?
I want to use this method for the Ledges of the building. Right now I’m capturing the Face area and scalling the instance with that. But it means that the source have to be already a certain size, if not we end up with something like that:

Maybe there is another method I haven’t though about but do you guys know any way to do that?
I’ve tried my best using Edge Vertices node but never got the result I wanted… I still don’t understand the logic of fields and instances.

My aim would be that the distributed object would take the size of the original face.

Any ideas would be very much appreciated :smiley:

18 Likes

you should add more styles and sell it on Blendermarket :smile:

It looks really interesting ! The style reminds me of the awesome village creator / game Townscaper on steam. How does it fare in terms of number of poygons ?

Thanks! If I manage to do everything I want maybe I’ll release it along a couple of other buildings style yes :slight_smile: