How to "properly" use: Specular, Glossy, Roughness & Reflection maps

Hey Fans!!

This seems like a total Noob question, but I’m aiming for “proper” use with the Principaled shader.

• And yes I know that this also depends on what shader workflow you are going to use (Specular vs Metalness) -

This because a while back I found out that for photo realistic results in general you should leave the “specular” slider set to 0,5. since this also involes IOR (1.5 for most dialectic materials).

I think that for the most part u can get away connecting these maps to the “Roughnes” slot on the prinipaled shader and maybe adding a ColorRamp shader for more control or reverse when needed.

That said, in allot of tutorials they show to just stick specular maps in the specular slot. I’m guessing this would over wright the correct setting of 1.5.

So my question is how to properly use these textures with the Principaled Shader (Specificly specular Maps).

Edit:

Here’s a brief overview of how to use the different maps with the Principaled Shader node.
A sort of recap for dummies:

-Specular maps come from and old texturing workflow (Yess we can still use it).

-Now we use a PBR (Physically-Based Rendering) workflow
So there are to Workflows:

1. Metalness Workflow (PBR new)
  2. Specular Workflow (Old)
    Each comes with their own maps collection
  • Blender’s Principaled Shader was designed for the Metalness Workflow
    (Don’t worry…we can stil use maps designed for the “Specular Workflow”)

PRINCIPALED SHADER…what map goes where???

• Metalness Workflow:
    Maps:
    Base Color > Base Color
    Roughness > Roughness
    Metallic > Metallic
  • Specular Workflow 1:
    Maps:
    Diffuse (Albedo) > Base Color
    Glossiness > color invert node/ColorRamp (inverted on) > Roughness
    Specular > Specular
    or alternatively:
    Specular > Nothing…just add “Clear Coat” (for new/finished mats)