Little Garden

hello

** edit putting this here because everyone think that the image is the render

im working on my archviz port-folio,
im trying to reproduce this image in cycles :slight_smile:

im modeling it in sketchup right now
(why sketchup? because for precision work right now blender is not appropriate, and sketchup have for shure the best and fastest tools to draw non-organic architecture)

everything is modeled from the photo-matching tool so the scaling is almost perfect

next step :

• try to convert every ngon with holes to regular ngon, because blender can’t do ngon with holes, unfortunatly :frowning:
  • import it to blender from a obj file
  • bevel the sh* out of important corners
2 Likes

I’m an architect and come from a CAD background, so I can relate to what you say.
But you are mistaken: Blender has a different workflow but can be used with extreme accuracy, with tools like increment snaps, geometry snaps and grids.

All my archviz work in blender is precise.

Btw it looks beautiful! I think you may find Eevee interesting for Archviz, it’s so very fast!
Cycles on the other hand is very accurate ray-traced lighting.

1 Like

this is the kind of precision i miss

There is an addon for blender which adds exactly this kind of snapping with reference point. I can’t remember its name but if you google it, you’ll find it easily. I use blender for arch viz and precision modelling and so far I’ve had no problem with it.
BTW. if snap to closest doesn’t work, change your origin to where you want to snap and then use snap active.

NP Station addon

I believe @BD3D didn’t mean Blender is not accurate. The tools and workflows is just not architect-friendly right now. Finding/snapping midpoint of edge, drawing perpendicular to edge/face, rotating/aligning stuff, extruding inwards etc. is painful. There is a good reason that someone provides a paid addon for these stuff: