Mesh is positioned differently on identical keyframes

Hello, I have a rigged model with some wiggly bones (wiggle bones 2 addon), I made an animation, baked it but then I noticed the first and last keyframe doesn’t match. Easy, I selected the affected bones, replaced the pose to match the desired position and of course inserted the new keyframes with new position. Everything seemed OK at first but then I noticed the bones really are in the expected identical position but the mesh is displaced. Only a little bit but when I loop the animation, it is visible and annoying. This happened across two different animations but also within one animation (first and last keyframe).

Here is a video to show this issue better. I’m still a newbie so I may be missing something but I couldn’t figure out how to even search for this issue to get valid answers. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Broader answer - when I’m looping an animation cycle, I don’t actually want the first and last frames to match. If it does, then you have a doubled frame every loop.

1 Like

I’m not exactly sure how the wiggle bones addon works-- I haven’t used it. (I should maybe try it out one of these days.) It’s perfectly possible that it sits on the mesh rather than on the armature-- that the bones can have the exact same orientations, with wiggle bones doing something extra to the mesh.

But, my understanding is that it does physics, so it’s not at all surprising that your first and last frames of your animation don’t match. First and last frames of physics aren’t going to match.

If you want to match physics frames, you have to cheat, by interpolating between two different animations, one running backwards and one running forwards. You have to basically mirror the animation.