On horizontal-only node networks

Not necessarily saying that you are wrong, but I personally find it more or less impossible to organize my node trees in Blender.
I’m a nuke artist by trade and have dabbled some in Houdini, so it’s not that I’m not used to working with nodes. The problem, as I see it is mainly that the nodes in blender are horizontal only. In Nuke and Houdini, your main tree is vertical and when you combine nodes you do it horizontally. That means that you have three directions to use when you organize.

Theoretically, you can also do that in Blender, but I find that it’s more or less impossible to do that in practice, and have the node connections be easily readable.
To illustrate. Here is a quite simple network in Blender, that I structured to the best of my abilities. However, I still find it completely unreadable and if I were to do something similar again, it would probably be faster for me to rebuild it rather than reuse this one and tweak it.

Compare that to a much bigger and more complex nuke network, where I would only need a few minutes to understand it and iterate.

Sure, the blender network is a lot messier, but my issue isn’t the mess, rather the construction of it (if that makes sense).

Do you have any massive blender trees that you can share (or are aware off), that have great structure that I can look at for inspiration?

2 Likes

Difference between top-down and left-to-right is not a thing. It works the same way, you’re just used to one way, which is much worse in my opinion.

And only difference I see in your comparisons is that Nuke node-tree uses straight-lines, so connections are more visible. Why not do that in Blender with reroute nodes?

Nuke uses colored frames to differentiate between networks, why only black frames in Blender?

Why giant spaces in Blender variant?