Pixologic ➔ Maxon ZBrush

Pretty interestng…

[Moderator note: modified the title to turn this into a general, ongoing thread about Maxon ZBrush]

7 Likes

Wow. Didnt expect that.

4 Likes

Here it comes… a new subscription service for you.

18 Likes

Seems like a good opportunity to invest more dev power into blender sculpt mode. People are most likely not gonna want to put up with maxon shit after decades of free upgrades

27 Likes

yup! more reasons to embrace blender fully! I abandoned Maya for ZBrush when I bought a license few years ago and was passionate about it. I started learning blender for super basic modelling (since I was so comfortable with ZModeler), riggin and animation. Now it seems that I will have to gladly go full Blender :slight_smile:

I’m afraid so too. :slightly_frowning_face:

I’m quite surprised. Always thought that Pixologic was pretty solid, continuing to head in its own direction.

Having said that I did wonder the last few years how they would keep up with Blender’s unstoppable expansion, including its improved Sculpt Mode.

It makes me a bit sad, as to me Pixologic was one of the few other tool developers next to Blender that managed to keep my sympathy through the years. I really hope Maxon will not dissolve that love.

12 Likes

I’m usually not surprised by acquisition announcements, but I didn’t expect this one at all.

10 Likes

If it works for you, great. I fear it doesn’t work for everybody (me included).

Hope for the best and prepare for the worst - as they say. I am leaning more forwards the worst kind of scenario.

2 Likes

Hmmm… :thinking:

Joseph Eager is already putting together all of the building blocks for a true, next-gen sculpting experience in Blender. Since the BF continues to get more funds, they need to bring him into the core team as a paid developer.

If they can get Pablo back as well to do all of the usability stuff, then we will have everything needed to get artists past this sudden turn of events.

15 Likes