Steam Locomotive, LiDAR Landscape

I’ve been working on getting my locomotive models into broader settings. In this work in progress, I’ve started with raw LiDAR data provided by the UK government. This provides a very accurate base model which I then populated with various tree, grass and crop assets - some purchased, and some scratch built. The overall goal of this project is to be able to place any LNER A1/A3 locomotive in any setting in the UK. This is my first attempt to bring all of this together.

This image also shows some experiments with steam, clouds and procedural ballast. The steam is build using a hand-crafted envelope with several layers of displacement. The clouds are rendered using simple volumetrics at full scale and the ballast is fully procedural.

There are plenty of things that I need to fix in the image, but I’d love to hear any feedback.

Here is a clay render of the model.

Finally, an updated thumbnail.

72 Likes

Maybe the smoke has too much water (white) ?

1 Like

If you hadn’t posted the second image i would said: No photos please… liked.

2 Likes

Looks like an old post card, brilliant!

I think that is something of an accidental aesthetic, but I see exactly what you mean. I always pull back the saturation from the raw render - might be a good idea to put up some variations that explore different parts of the scale.

I’ve just started to explore LiDAR for landscapes as well, from the USGS. Nothing worth posting yet :). Do you have a link to the UK data? I’d like to see how they compare.

I’m curious what tools you’re using to process the point clouds for use in Blender. I’m leaning toward PDAL, or something similar, which can be scripted to process many tiles rather than doing each one by hand. Have you tried a few tools, and if so, which do you prefer?

Hi Kris,