My 1st Blender Project Mother's Cafe

Hello Everyone!

I am new to Blender, I have been at this for about 2 months now. I do not really know what I am doing so I don’t really have a lot of confidence if my work is any good or not. Since this is a post for “Works in Progress” , I am going to get brave and make a post to get some feedback.

This is for an animation project I am considering. The characters are toonish so I am not looking for ultra-realism (however it would be nice to create that type of work). I have made everything except the images on the walls (internet downloads). I do use other software for character creation and animation.

Full Render

quick render

quick render

quick render

Let me know what you think. Do I have potential? LOL It’s ok to be honest, please be kind though. I know I am not great. :slight_smile:

Thanks
Michelle

24 Likes

Welcome to BA!

That’s a nice first project and looks very good already!
Definitely keep going because you seem to know what you are doing. No reason to not have confidence!

I’m not very knowledgeable about the particular art style but here is some feedback:

1. You seem to have some scale issues. The kitchen appliances in quick render 1 seem very low heightweise. The working height seems to be on thigh height. Also the bar stools in front of the counter in quick render 3 seem to low, making the rest look off scale wise. The counter becomes to small as well, while the cooler and tap appliance back at the wall seems huge compared to it. It may be perspective, but it’s always good to place a correctly scaled human figure in your scene just for reference purposes.

2. The diner and kitchen look unused. Like in off-the-shelf clean and not lived in. Don’t know if it is the style/idea you’re going for, but it’s something to consider at least.

Maybe others can add some more feedback.

Keep it going, you’re on the right track, I’d say!

1 Like

Thank you WK042 :smiley: