Thanks to Your Help Fractal Voronoi Noise Was Added Into Blender!

Hi everyone,

There have been requests for more noise variations in Blender for quite some time now.
In fact on Right-Click Select it is the highest voted feature suggestion.
Unfortunately not a lot has happened since it was posted 3 years ago.
So to address the lack of procedural noises I decided to actually do something about it and implemented Fractal Voronoi noise in Blender.

But let me first introduce myself. I’m Hoshinova and I’m a volunteer Blender developer.
To get Fractal Voronoi noise into Blender I started D16262.
“What’s Fractal Voronoi noise?” is probably what you’re asking yourself now so let me give you a quick explanation.

—Fractal Voronoi Noise in a Nutshell—

To better explain Fractal Voronoi noise it’s good to first give a quick explanation on how Blender’s Noise Texture works:
Basically the Noise Texture creates a single layer of what’s called “Perlin noise”:

The Noise Texture then adds multiple layers of them together to create what’s known as “Fractal Perlin noise”:

The above image has 5 layers of Perlin noise added together which in Blender’s Noise Texture is controlled by the Detail input. Therefore the Detail input for 1st image was set to 0.0 and for the 2nd image it was set to 4.0.
I think most of you would agree that a single layer of Perlin noise as seen in the first image is rather plain and boring, while in the second image we have a much more interesting noise pattern which can be used to create various procedural textures.

So what does all of that have to do with Fractal Voronoi noise?
Well let’s take a look into what Blender’s Voronoi Texture can create:

It creates a single layer of Voronoi noise…
Yes that’s pretty much all it can really do. Rather plain and boring like the single layer of Perlin noise isn’t it?
So what if we took multiple layers of it and added them together like we did with Perlin noise?
This is what you get: