The rabbit and the forest troll

I just love the forest, and being a swede living in Norway I am also obligated to believe in trolls. Not that I will ever see them because they’re probably extremely picky for who they show themselves to. This time it and the bunny had a small moment together just before bedtime.

I have been working on this back and forth for a way to long time, being to obsessive about big and small stuff which have made me quite blind to this. As a true artist I will abandon this now, but might go back in a month or so to look over the grade again with new eyes :slight_smile:
Everything apart from the pine bark and stone textures is made by me in Blender. So I’ve modelled all the trees etc myself, the spruces and pines in the distance I made about a year ago and unfortunately uses opacity maps which slows down the render time quite a bit, but the closer pines are newly created using geo nodes, so every single needle is a geometry (which yeah actually renders way faster than low poly with opacity maps).

And just as an fyi, the spruces in the foreground is the exact same model as the spruces on the furthest mountain. There are around 500 000 instances in the scene with up to 80k polygons on each which totals in maybe around 130 000 000 000 polygons in the scene. In other words, Cycles can handle polygons quite easily :slight_smile:
Rendered at 8K for those lovely details, but the opacity maps on the trees and a bit too heavy use of volumetrics took the render time up to 13 hours @ 300 samples with my 3060ti on the main layer.

This is just for thumbnail ^^

183 Likes

Wow! This is honestly beautiful and inspiring! :innocent:

2 Likes

Impressive! Looks like an insanely detailed oil painting. How can you even edit / preview such a massive scene when you’re working on it?

1 Like

OMG what a beautiful job

2 Likes

Thanks guys!