Macro facial renders (100% Blender)

More renders coming from the tutorial course I’ve been producing for 2 years (BTW it releases at the end of this month on cgcookie.com and the blender market!)

I’ve primarily posted full-frame portraits (Simon, Abe, Colin) but for this I wanted to stress-test the details up close. This model is the “Colin” head (as taught step-by-step in the HUMAN course) and to my surprise the only thing I had to tweak was the amount of vellus hairs.

I only used Blender to create everything from scratch. No zbrush, substance, commercial addons or commercial resources.

Thanks for looking! :slight_smile:

165 Likes

I want it now! =D Preordered it but 3.0 seems to mess with the hair of the files. Not a big problem though.

Anyway cant wait to dive into it.

2 Likes

I’m honored that you’ve pre-ordered! Admittedly I haven’t even downloaded a 3.0 experimental build yet. Before I started teaching I was always quick to get the latest and greatest exp builds. But now I tend to avoid them till they’re released as trunk :sweat_smile:

It’s useful to know that 3.0 could mess up some things about the files / content. I’ll need to address that if it persists…

3 Likes

You’re on the #featured row! :+1:

4 Likes

This is exceedingly real! :smiley:
And the fact that you only used Blender is jaw-dropping! :astonished:
This is an exceptionally true talent! I am wondering when the film industry is going to hire you.

5 Likes

Crazy details! Been astonished when you first posted those renders of that African American guy with the glasses. It all looks so well-made!

4 Likes

Wait?! How can you pre-order and then say 3.0 messes with the files?!

1 Like

Well, 3.0 is not officially released yet which also means it wasn’t available when I started recording 2 years ago :sweat_smile: