Piranha4D's Learning and Practice 2022

updated thumbnail

Hi. @joseph encouraged me to start posting my newbie work, so I’ll give it a go. I’m new to Blender, just a few weeks, and while I have experience with 3D software, I worked as a programmer, and never learned much proper modeling. So I know my way around how many things work technically, but I am a novice to creating anything manually. My proximate reason for learning to model now was that I got sucked into playing House Flipper, was constantly wanting more items for decorating, and then realized that it has a Steam Workshop, and I could make my own assets. Huh. Maybe it was time to give Blender a serious try.

I’m not an artist; I have no training in anything artistic – but I love looking at other people’s art, and I have stuff in my head, and it occasionally wants out, which doesn’t really go well because I lack knowledge of techniques in anything but photography, and had no time to acquire those (workoholic). Anyway, though I have gotten to the point where I can make many of the assets I originally wanted to learn how to make, ironically my focus has already shifted. I am now much more excited about the multitude of things Blender can do beyond that, and I want to learn ALL THE THINGS. I’m not playing House Flipper anymore, instead I practice in Blender.

I want to chronicle my learning experiences in one place because that sort of thing has always been interesting for me to look back on. Also, because in any community I participate in I want to give back, and since I can’t post any amazing art pieces that’ll inspire people, maybe I can share with other beginners that it gets better, and how. :wink:

2022-04-25 Ye Olde Glazed Torus of Doom