For Modo user switching to Blender 2.8

If you’re a Modo user and recently switched to Blender 2.8 please let me know what your Foundry forum name in here, so I know who whos. I know quite a few of us are either going full blown Blender and others are adding Blender as part of the their Modo pipeline.

Feel free to post any question about modo/Blender , tips,techniques,etc.

11 Likes

Why are you switching? Modo is a really nice app really.

5 Likes

It’s Free :wink:

3 Likes

I’m a freelance modeler BTW. Free has little to do with switching, IMHO Blender is a better modeler . I just got really tired of the destructive modelling in Modo, often clients will want something change, so the Blender stack is awesome for that, the procedural modelling in Modo seems like a after thought the way it’s implemented, I don’t click with it. Also Blender as a bigger developer community, so lots of free and paid for addons(hardOPS,Box cutter,etc ,render engines).

2.8 was a turning point since they are revamping the key mapping,and the GUI. EEVEE is great, Cycle is great.

22 Likes

Fair enough. I was just curious, I have been using Modo since 2002, go figure ( you might say it was not out then). I still use it a lot along with Blender.

They compliment each other a lot. In fact I am going to work on a new addon soon for better modeling workflow between Modo and Blender.

I stil think that Modo’s renderer is superior. In any case I love both and I do not need to give one over other. it is naturally important to understand the weaknesses and strengths of the tools that we use so we can use them for the right purpose.

Yes Blender is a better modeler, at least it is offers more practical tool set and workflows.

Good luck with Blender, it is a sharp turn but you will like it.

3 Likes

Glad to have you! If you haven’t already, take a look at what Heavypoly is up to with 2.8; he also switched from Modo.

5 Likes